Kilchurn Castle A couple of miles west of Dalmally at the head of Loch Awe sits Kilchurn castle. Built in the 15th century by the Campbells of Glenorchy, the castle remained in Campbell hands for the next 240 plus years. Further extension and strengthening works were carried out during this period.
Circa 1740, the Campbells abandoned Kilchurn and moved to Balloch castle, now known as Taymouth castle. Hanoverian troops garrisoned at Kilchurn for a time in 1745.
Rapid deterioration of the building took effect when it was de-roofed in 1775 and remained as a ruin until coming under the auspices of the state in 1953.
Framed by noble Ben Cruachan, on its rocky promontory midst Loch Awe, Kilchurn
Castle reigns serenely on its wee island that was once the Macgregor's. With its its
five storey tower house and dominant circular towers the ruins of Kilchurn castle sits amidst breathtaking scenery.
Cherished throughout history by artists and poets for its picturesque location, it is one of the most photographed castles in Scotland.