Oban Harbour One of the most popular tourist attractions in Scotland, Oban sits prettily in a small bay on the Sound of Kerrera. The buildings in the town are in the main of a Victorian style with 19th century additions. Yet archaeological evidence has uncovered traces of human habitation here going back to Neolithic times.
Overlooking Oban is the unfinished tower known affectionately as ‘McHaigs Folly’
Work started here in 1897 and ended with his death in 1902. James Stuart McHaig, a prominent banker in Oban, and probably a bit eccentric believed that the stonemasons of Oban should have something to do to keep them occupied during their idle moments.
Oban, already established as a major fishing and ferry port really took off in 1880 when the Callander to Oban railway opened.
Another place of interest too, is Dunollie Castle about a mile north of the town. Dunollie sits high on a rocky ridge overlooking the sea.
A fortress since the 6th century, the area was controlled by the Kings of Dalriada.
In 698 the castle, then fortress of the Kings of Dalriada, was destroyed following a skirmish with Irish invaders.
In the 13th century, Clan MacDougall of Lorn built e new structure, the ruins of which we see today.
The MacDougalls were one of the most powerful clans in Scotland being descended from the Somerled line.
Sworn enemies of the Bruce clan, bitter feuding erupted into a full time battle between the two at the Battle of Dalry. Robert the Bruce was lucky to leave the field of conflict with his head still attached to his neck, not only did Bruce lose the fight, he also lost his brooch. Now called the Brooch of Lorn it resides as a treasured possession of the present clan chief of the MacDougalls.
The MacDougalls abandoned Dunollie Castle in 1746 and built nearby Dunollie House.
Oban is a charming scenic town, the main port to the Outer Hebrides.